Home

Oh, what a tangled web we weave: Ogre-faced

October 30, 2011

 

Photo Credit: Carl Moller

 

I was working in the lab late one night

When my eyes beheld an eerie sight.

For a monster with fangs and protruding eyes

Cast a net over me, then much to my surprise…

 

The monster slowly moved in the dark of night

With a hump on his back and a fear of the light.

Those eyes, those fangs – but eight pairs of legs…

“Are you an ogre, a spider? Please tell!” I begged.

 

 

The monster seemed to be having fun,

As if a party had just begun.

He opened his mouth and said to me,

“Just listen and you will see.”

 

 

“My eyes subdue my prey at night.

I’ve thorns on my legs for more than just fright.

I hide among twigs and sticks and vines.

You’ll never see me, until its time.”

 

 

“But that is not why I’m here tonight

It is the day that spirits take flight.

All Hallow’s Eve is among us now…

Join my fellows and I for our nightly prowl.”

 

 

We did the mash

We did the monster mash

The monster mash

It was a graveyard smash

We did the mash

It caught on in a flash

We did the mash

We did the monster mash

 

 

Now everything is cool, I’m part of the crew.

Ogre-faced spiders are no threat to me and you.

For insects, well thats another story…

For those who enjoy horror and gory.

 

 

We did the monster mash.

Please share your favorite Halloween monster! And check out this invasive species from DPI’s YouTube channel: the Mexican Red Rump Tarantula. Happy Halloween!

2 Responses to “Oh, what a tangled web we weave: Ogre-faced”


  1. […] Check out some of our blog posts about spiders under the spider category. Here are a few links: ogre-faced, black widow, trapdoor, the wolf spider and the Mexican Red Rump Tarantula. […]


  2. […] Mash and TerracycleHalloween Lyrics For ChildrenYou dare stare into the pumpkin’s eyes?Oh, what a tangled web we weave: Ogre-faced ul.legalfooter li{ list-style:none; float:left; padding-right:20px; } .accept{ […]


Leave a Reply

